Local Minimum-Wage Increase In Effect: Time To Check Your Payroll!

It may be time once again to update your payroll. On July 1, 2018, the minimum wage increased in many cities in California, including Los Angeles.

The statewide minimum wage increases every year on January 1, until it reaches $15.00/hour on January 1, 2022 for employers with 26 or more employees. The increase is delayed one year for employers with 25 or fewer employees. Beginning on January 1, 2019, the California minimum wage will be $11.00/hour for employers with 1-25 employees and $12.00/hour for employers with 26 or more employees.

However, there are many local wage ordinances in California where the minimum wage is higher than the state requirement. Below is a list of cities where the minimum wage increased on July 1, 2018.

City # of Employees Minimum Wage
Before July 1, 2018
Minimum Wage
as of July 1, 2018
Belmont ALL $11.00 $12.50
El Cerrito ALL $12.25 $13.60
Emeryville 1-55 $14.00 $15.00
56+ $15.20 $15.69
Los Angeles City 1-25 $10.50 $12.00
26+ $12.00 $13.25
Los Angeles County
(Unincorporated)
1-25 $10.50 $12.00
26+ $12.00 $13.25
Malibu 1-25 $10.50 $12.00
26+ $12.00 $13.25
Milpitas ALL $12.00 $13.50
Pasadena 1-25 $10.50 $12.00
26+ $12.00 $13.25
San Francisco ALL $14.00 $15.00
San Leandro ALL $14.00 $15.00
Santa Monica 1-25 $10.50 $12.00
26+ $12.00 $13.25

This list is not exhaustive and does not reflect increases for certain types of workers (e.g., tipped employees and hotel workers). It also does not include cities where the minimum wage increase occurs on a date other than July 1 (e.g., Berkeley has a minimum-wage increase on October 1, 2018).


If you are unsure whether your business is affected by these recent increases, or if you have any questions regarding which minimum wage ordinance applies to you, please contact your SFSS&W attorney.

Millicent N. Sanchez ext. 8203 msanchez@swerdlowlaw.com
Janet I. Swerdlow ext. 8202 jswerdlow@swerdlowlaw.com
David A. Wimmer ext. 8201 dwimmer@swerdlowlaw.com
Emily G. Camastra ext. 8213 ecamastra@swerdlowlaw.com
Meghan E. O’Kane ext. 8204 mokane@swerdlowlaw.com
Lori M. Yankelevits ext. 8205 lyankelevits@swerdlowlaw.com
Karen E. Rhodes ext. 8206 krhodes@swerdlowlaw.com

Comments are closed.